Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Im New to MMA

Smile Im New to MMA

Hi all,
    I have recently just started MMA and I have been 3 times.
    I am enjoying it and its good getting back into some form of martial arts. I used to do Taekwondo yrs ago (10) and so with lack of training, lots of drinking etc, my fitness level is now shocking!
    As you all know, Taekwondo is not a full contact sport so going from that to MMA is a big jump.
    Really enjoying it though and I am knackard after each session I have been too, so thats good! My main reason for doing it is to improve on my fitness!
    Last night when I was at the club, the instuctor was telling us all about a competiton coming up, http://www.cagewarriors.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=36992
    But having only been 3 times to MMA and not done any training for over 10 years, am I right thinking I should leave this competition for now and get my fitness up! I have, at the end of the day only had 3 grappling lessons!
    What are your thoughts? Is this comp, a full blown full contact competition or...
    Im not after getting battered, after all I mainly joined for the fitness. But having said that, if I feel good enough, I dont see a reason not to give it ago.

Cheers for reading guys,

Dave
    Last edited by DaveSupTT; 21-05-2009 at 12:38 PM.

Personally, I would advise against competing after three months training if your base fitness level is really poor AND you're not training solely in grappling, since I doubt you'll be fit enough or well-versed enough on the ground in that time. I'd say six months might be a better bet. But if you want to do it, by all means, do it. Just give it a try and whatever you do, don't let yourself get hurt.

Take care,

Stalks

Banned

Well... If it's not gonna affect your record or anything, i'd say do it for the experience, you got 1 month to train if its in june 28th

Quote Originally Posted by Stalkachu View Post