Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Grapple & Strike rules questions

  1. #1
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default Grapple & Strike rules questions

    Just want to know for any of our guys who do the G&S league this year...


    This is the HW final from last year: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgFmhS-gkZ4&feature=sub

    Why does the first instance of going into the ropes result in a restart standing but the second is started on the ground in the same position?


    Also, do you plan to use the same ring for the finals this year?
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

  2. #2
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default

    TTT for Heath.
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

  3. #3
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default

    To... the... top!
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default

    Back to the top.
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

  5. #5
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default

    Still no response?
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob T View Post
    Still no response?
    lookin at the footage shown...the first instance was that the position was not able to be re-created as it was not a hold down! the second ended up in a scarf hold position which is a hold down and can easily be re-created.

    in my opinion

  7. #7
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default

    I don't see why the first position couldn't be restarted. That is the position they often start wrestling matches from - one guy turtled, one with a body lock. Easy.

    Still would be nice for an official response.
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob T View Post
    I don't see why the first position couldn't be restarted. That is the position they often start wrestling matches from - one guy turtled, one with a body lock. Easy.

    Still would be nice for an official response.
    i guess it could have been it probably felt right at the time...

    hopefully heath will reply soon to this thread as i know hes not on here all the time.

  9. #9

    Default

    Rules are clearly explained at each event, especially this rule.

    As for the video, the position wasn’t classed as a position that could be easily created, as the position wasn’t secured. The match had to be called to a stop as Floyd was hanging out of the ring, therefore leading to a restart back to the feet.

    G&S
    ‘Rehearsed routines lack the flexibility to adapt - Simple, Direct & Brutal’

    www.grappleandstrike.com
    www.falconsmartialarts.com
    www.taijutsukai.co.uk

  10. #10
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default

    I just don't see how the first position couldn't be easily recreated? The position was secure enough that Jon could strike from it before the stoppage. Floyd had both arms and legs on the floor and was stable, it wasn't a scramble.

    Oh well.
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This website uses cookies to enhance user experience. They can be disabled at any time. Please see our FAQ's for details.