Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Minimal/restricted training

Default Minimal/restricted training

I am considering travelling once a week to pratice BJJ after Easter. This would be possibly only saturdays.
    Reason 1 is because I train Stand up roughly 4 days a week. Reason 2 is simply distance from home and work shifts. Just how much benefit can one receive from a couple of hours training a week, considering I understand the ground game moderately and I am not an absolute beginner?
    "Awww, so you lost darling - but it's the taking part that counts" My Mum... thanks for nothing Mum.

Once a week is better than no times, although it'll take you a bit longer to pick things up. The more you train the quicker you pick things up. Simple really.

Last edited by magpie80; 29-11-2010 at 11:50 PM.

It depends on:

1. Your understanding of your body
    2. The people you'd be rolling with
    3. The instructor
    4. What else you do for your ground game (yoga, swiss ball training, kettlebells...etc)

Best of luck matey and let us know how it goes. Welcome to the world of part time grappling
    The Part Time Grappler - Just Google BJJ / Grappling Tips and you'll find me

As Luke said, once a week is better than nothing.
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

Get someone else from your stand up class to go with you, then practise what you learnt at the the grappling class for 30 minutes twice a week before your stand up class?
    Celtic Pride Martial Arts, Abertillery, Gwent
    Brazilian Jiu Jitsu
    Thai Boxing
    Mixed Martial Arts

Need onli wretsling. Not jewjetshu. Onli needing strong. Polsa namber 1!

responses
    Magpie.