Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Can anyone learn to fight?

Default Can anyone learn to fight?

I work with a guy who knows that I train martials arts. I've made it very clear to him that I'm no expert, but lately he's been asking my advice on what martial art to take up.

Self defence seems to be his number one priority, closely followed by fitness. He has no desire to compete.

Thing is, he's what many people would regard as a geek. Rather timid in nature, very bookish, not physically imposing at all. And whilst he has no disabilities or health problems that might stand in his way, he's certainly not what you'd call even remotely athletic.

He likes the idea of boxing or Muay Thai, but is petrified of being punched in the head. Bodyshots are fine, but headshots are a great concern to him, although I'm not quite sure why.

Can such a person learn to fight to a degree where they could hold their own in a streetfight?

I hate people judging me when they don't know me, and I hate doing the same to others. But I have to admit, I'd be very surprised if this guy could ever reach a level where he could fend of an attack from an unarmed fifteen year old chav.

sounds like he just got a really steep learning curve also sounds like he needs to spar and get punched in the face a few times to get over that fear
    30% Discount on Dianabol When you enter promotional code : R01DR4GE at bouncecup.com

Anyone who is scared of getting punched or hurt will never suceed in any sort of fight

thats not true, my brother is scared of getting hit so he tries to take my head off. i think anyone can learn if they're determined, they just have to find what works for them

When I first started training id saw Unleashed & TUF1 had just started & I was hooked on watching it. I was in no way tough/ a fighter etc.