Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: supplement advice

Default supplement advice

Hi folks,

I am looking at some advice for supplements

I've never used anything before, so I'm very new to this...

I'm 73kg looking to be fighting at 70kg (eventually), so dont want to gain weight

I am looking for something to help with:
    performance
    strength
    energy

also, I have recently changed my diet (now eating healthy) and have found I tend to be very tired all the time, any advice would be apprieciated?
    Stuart Baxter - Contributing writer - The Fight Lounge

Hi mate,

You definately need some protein supplement in your diet other wise your body will burn immediate fuel (food) then fat followed by muscle. There are some other products on the market too at the moment designed for taking after training. They call them protein carb mixes.

One i am looking at now is made by PWRTEK its called REPAIR Protein and Carbs. Checkout www.discount-supplements.co.uk

I would take some professional advice (health stores etc) for use of protein.

A friend recommends the following

Protein shake as part your breakfast
    Before training
    After training
    At bedtime (mixed with milk) its supposed to feed your body through the night

As far as the sleep thing goes if you are increasing your training then you need to ensure good rest/sleep and maybe increase that too.

Having followed Lance Armstrongs exploits when i was cycling. He trains first thing in the morning with a reasonably long ride, eats then sleeps again for a couple of hours before getting up for a late lunch and training in the afternoon.

This is all well and good if you are being paid to fight and train. Not so easy if you are trying to hold down a job and run a family!!

Hope this helps in some way. Everyone you speak to will use supplements in a different way. listen to it all and come up with your own plan..

Nate
    Last edited by Nate1; 15-06-2010 at 11:59 AM.
    si vis pacem para bellum