Page 1 of 49 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Blue Belts?

"The UK's Lyoto Machida - Hit and Run, Baby" widge milward's Avatar

Default Blue Belts?

Just a quick question, roughly how long does it take to reach a blue belt? How many sessions a week would it take to progress steadily?

Am i going to get "how long is a piece of string" answers?

Is it realistic to reach a blue in 6 months - 1 year training 1-2 times a week? if you have a decent grappling knowledge previously?
    You can't put a limit on anything. The more you dream, the farther you get

Team Colosseum

It's extremely realistic in that scenario.

For a complete beginner, 12-18 months is probably the average I reckon.

James

obviously how long is a piece of string comes into it, but I got mine in just over 6 months, I'd trained in MMA for a year or so previously, and am a blue in Judo as well, but I still had to put the hours in and get used to the Gi again, before I got a good whipping. I train at least 3 times a week. Depends on you and your instructor/teacher. You represent who ever gives you the belt, so they have there rep on the line, so they want to be sure you can swim with the other blue belts.

Well i train mma and bjj
    two session on a monday night
    two sessions on a thursday night.
    and i got my blue belt from Royce gracie in 10 months.... so its easily achievable in a year but it also goes on how quickly you progress because people have learn at there own pace but if you drill the moves you get given to learn.... literally just drill drill drill drill you should be able to get it in a year..
    but dont rush it because white belt competitions is where everyone is fairly similar skill level but when it jumps to blue you can have a budding purple belt so just train enjoy it and when your ready you will get it
    Brazilian Ju Jitsu Blue Belt- Royce Gracie.