Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is taekwondo underestimated?

Default Is taekwondo underestimated?

It seems as if this martial art is not really taken seriously i will be honest i thought it was a little silly looking at first but after watching quite a few fights it seems these fighters are not to bad at holding their own, considering they seem to do well against muay thai and boxers (not win all the time) which really surprised me. I have no knowledge of this martial art really though so if i am chatting out my ass then don't worry.
    Amatuer Kickboxer: 3-0-0

Is Taekwondo underestimated? In theory, yes.

Are most Taekwondo 'fighters' underestimated? No.

The problem with TKD fighters (like most martial artists) is that they are trained for a specific sport - in this case TKD. TKD might look like 'fighting' (primarily to people who watch too many films) but it's nowhere near the same thing because of all the rules (a similar point can be made of MMA). TKD practitioners are generally therefore no more suited to fighting than people who lie on the floor swining their arms around are suited to swimming.

There are two exceptions:

1, People who claim to train 'traditional' TKD. This is because TKD was actually designed for the Korean military to use. The original/traditional form from the 1960s is therefore designed to be efficient and lethal. People who practice this will tell you that they could easily kill you - the problem is that they've mever actually killed anyone with it. No pressure testing = no way of knowing whether you can do what you think/claim you can.