Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What is the right decision?

  1. #1

    Default What is the right decision?

    What is the right decision?

    If a fighter gets kneed to the groin and cannot continue after 5 mins of rest? does the offender get disqualified for this?

    Does it matter what round it is in?

    If a fighter gets poked in the eye in the 1st round and going into the 2nd round he cannot continue due to the poke in the eye from the 1st round? what would be the right outcome? Do scorecards come into play?



    Anyone who can shed some light on this?

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by funkyman2012 View Post
    What is the right decision?

    If a fighter gets kneed to the groin and cannot continue after 5 mins of rest? does the offender get disqualified for this?

    Does it matter what round it is in?

    If a fighter gets poked in the eye in the 1st round and going into the 2nd round he cannot continue due to the poke in the eye from the 1st round? what would be the right outcome? Do scorecards come into play?



    Anyone who can shed some light on this?
    Scenario 1 : if strike to groin was deemed, by the referee, to be intentional then the offender would be DQ'd no matter what round it was in.
    If it was deemed unintentional and was in round 1 or 2 of a 3 round contest OR round 1, 2 or 3 of a 5 round contest, then it would be a "No Contest"
    If the offence occurred in round 3 of a 3 round contest, OR rounds 4 or 5 of a 5 round contest then it would go to the score cards and would be recorded as a Technical Decision - incomplete rounds would not be scored.

    Scenario 2: in this specific scenario - if deemed intentional, by the referee, then fouled fighter would be declared winner by Technical Decision if ahead on scorecards. If he is behind on scorecards then it will be declared a Technical draw.
    If deemed unintentional then it would be declared a No Contest.
    Last edited by DeanoW; 21-03-2012 at 05:00 PM.
    REFEREE with MMA Officials

  3. #3
    Senior Member Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    9,171

    Default

    Surely if a fighter had said he was ok to continue after an eye poke, and then later said he couldn't carry on... it's tough shit? Shouldn't have said they were ok initially.
    http://www.ChrisReesAcademy.com - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/

  4. #4

    Default

    Dean - almost there mate ;-) by the way a note for you to update your records, the incomplete round now can be scored! if it is over quickly, say a minute or under with no real action then a 10-10 should be given, there have been a few other minor ammendments but we can discuss next time we meet.

    With regard to the groin shot - if after the full five minutes the fighter elects not to continue or the doctor rules him unable to do so [could be before the 5 minutes are up] and the foul was deemed intentional then he wins via DQ. If he elects to continue then the offending fighter is deducted two points and the fight resumes.

    If the groin shot was deemed unintentional and the fighter elected not to continue after a full 5 minutes recovery or the doctor rules him unfit to do so then it would be ruled a no contest if the foul happened in rounds 1 or 2 of a 3 round contest or rounds 1, 2 or 3 of a five round contest. If it occured in round 3 of 3 or rounds 4 or 5 of 5 then we can go to the score cards, remembering that we do score the incomplete round. [see note above] This would be recorded as a technical decision.

    Scenario 2: in this specific scenario - if deemed intentional, by the referee, then fouled fighter would be declared winner by Technical Decision if ahead on scorecards. If he is behind on scorecards then it will be declared a Technical draw.
    If deemed unintentional then it would be declared a No Contest.
    With regard to the eye poke situation a technical decision could only be reached if we went to the score cards. In this instance it is stated that it happened in round 1 - if this was the case and the fighter could not continue then we would have a no contest for the unintentional foul. If the eye poke was deemed intentional [it would be pretty shitty for this to happen!] then we would resort to the above and treat it in exactly the same way.

    The out come of fouled fighters being stopped later in the fight as a direct result of an earlier foul takes some explaining here! Technical wins and technical draws are there to protect fighters who have been fouled intentionally.

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by marc goddard; 21-03-2012 at 07:20 PM.
    if you think its easy stop now

    no one achieved anything by doing nothing

    never argue with a fool

    if fighting is a pursuit rooted in pain, you will find the best teachers have often absorbed the most punishment themselves......and remained standing

    http://www.twitter.com/marcgoddard_uk

  5. #5

    Default

    Cheers Marc - wasn't aware of the recent update on incomplete rounds - I am now
    Catch up soon matey
    REFEREE with MMA Officials

  6. #6

    Default

    Thanks Guys.

    so just to clarify, if somebody gets poked in the eyes accidently in round 3 of a 3 round fight and rounds 4&5 of a 5 round fight and the fighter could not continue then it would go to the scorecards and if the fighter who got fouled is ahead on the scorecards at the time wins by technical decision and if he is behind on the scorecards it is a technical draw.

    If the fighter gets poked in the eye in the 3rd round of a 3 round fight and of the 4th and 5th round of a 5 round contest INTENTIALLY then this would mean DQ and the injured fighter will win right?


    Thanks guys for your help.
    Last edited by funkyman2012; 22-03-2012 at 03:02 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This website uses cookies to enhance user experience. They can be disabled at any time. Please see our FAQ's for details.