Thread: How hard is it to get sponsors?

Hybrid View

Default How hard is it to get sponsors?

I have been fighting since 2010 and i have fought for a few big shows but i still dont have any sponsors. Does anyone else have this problem. I Know amatuer fighters with more sponsors than me. I have a 3 mouthguard and old boxing gloves and no nice gear to train with. Any help would be nice
    Pro 2-0,Semi-Pro 3-1,Am 6-1-1 Height 5ft 10 Weight 70kg

Problem is that there has to be a reason to sponsor you. Are people likely to see the company's logo on you, are you going to talk about them sponsoring you in the local paper, etc, etc. Essentially, for a company it is a form of advertising and every time they advertise they need to ask themselves: 'Will I get out more than I put in?' If the answer is no, they won't bother.

My advice would be to approach clothing companies and sports shops telling them you'll pimp their gear and small local businesses telling them that you'll mention them in the paper every opportunity you get and wear a shirt on fight night with their logo on. If you secure one, make sure you make it worth their while to keep on investing in you.

Good luck, dude!
    "When you're not training; somebody else is training to kick your ass."
    Part of Team Savage. Trained by Alex 'The Boy' Owen:
    http://www.teamsavage.co.uk/

Quote Originally Posted by Leon212 View Post
    I have been fighting since 2010 and i have fought for a few big shows but i still dont have any sponsors. Does anyone else have this problem. I Know amatuer fighters with more sponsors than me. I have a 3 mouthguard and old boxing gloves and no nice gear to train with. Any help would be nice
    It's all about marketability... Leeroy Barnes gets so many sponsors because he reps a brand.