Browse News

 

CWFC Fight Night 7: Kusch v Fields

28/08/2012

  • Add to Flipboard Magazine.

The New Boxing Arena in Amman, which hosts CWFC Fight Night 7 this Saturday (Photo: Dolly Clew/Cage Warriors).

CAGE Warriors Fighting Championship returns this weekend with its ninth show of what has already been a hectic year for the organisation.

The Jordanian capital of Amman plays host to CWFC Fight Night 7, a stacked card that’s headlined by a tournament final bout which will determine the next Cage Warriors middleweight champion.

Ukraine’s Pavel Kusch was a late addition to the tournament line-up, having been drafted in at the semi-final stage to replace the injured Chris Fields against John Phillips for Cage Warriors’ last trip to Jordan - CWFC Fight Night 5 in April.

Kusch pulled off a massive shock, submitting Phillips with a slick heel-hook inside 30 seconds to book his place in the final against Victor Cheng.

However, when an elbow injury forced Cheng out of the decider, a place in the final was up for grabs again so Phillips and Fields clashed in the main event at Cage Warriors 48 in London on July 21 with the coveted title shot at stake.

Fields had in fact been a late replacement for beaten tournament semi-finalist Faycal Hucin, who cried off injured just two weeks out from the fight.

Despite having the better of the encounter, Fields suffered a second-round submission (guillotine) loss to Phillips, who secured a rematch against Kusch in the tournament final.

But the injury curse of the Cage Warriors middleweight tournament didn’t end there. Another twist in the tale was in store: Phillips sustained a broken hand during his win over Fields, catapulting the Irishman back into the equation.

Fields versus Kusch will be the main event of a nine-bout card at the New Boxing Arena this Saturday night, as Fields aims to emulate his SBG Ireland team-mate Conor McGregor, who was crowned CWFC featherweight champion in June.

McGregor’s scheduled debut title defence was also due to take place this weekend in Jordan, but as a result of an injury to the title holder, top contender Jim Alers will now take on Marcio Cesar instead.

Also at CWFC Fight Night 7, UFC veteran Mark Holst tackles BJJ expert Leo Santos, Mohsen Bahari takes on Piotr Ptasinski, Liam James fights at bantamweight for the first time against Olivier Pastor, while James Brum and James Saville willl square off in a clash of two of the UK’s top talents.

All six main card bouts will be broadcast live on MMAJunkie.com (not available in the UK & Ireland) on Saturday night (9pm local time, 7pm UK, 2pm ET, 11am PT). You can also follow our live updates throughout the event on Twitter.

The preliminary card, featuring Robert Krecicki versus Mohamed Ali, Mike Ling versus Brett Bassett and Artem Lobov versus some Marat Magomedov, will stream live on Facebook at (8pm local time, 6pm UK, 1pm ET, 10am PT).

Keep track of Cage Warriors Fighting Championship on Facebook and Twitter for the latest interviews and build-up to CWFC Fight Night 7 from Amman, Jordan throughout the week.


MAIN CARD

Pavel Kusch v Chris Fields - middleweight title bout
Jim Alers v Marcio Cesar
Mark Holst v Leonardo Santos
Mohsen Bahari v Piotr Ptasinski
Liam James v Olivier Pastor
James Brum v James Saville

PRELIMINARY CARD

Robert Krecicki v Mohamed Ali
Mike Ling v Brett Bassett
Artem Lobov v Marat Magomedov

  • Add to Flipboard Magazine.

Search Videos & Photos

Recent Videos

Cage Warriors 68: Review

Event: Cage Warriors 68
Date: 03/05/2014
Venue: Echo Arena, Liverpool, England

Cage Warriors 68: Danny Roberts vs. Jimmy Wallhead

Event: Cage Warriors 68
Date: 03/05/2014
Venue: Echo Arena, Liverpool, England

Cage Warriors 68: Marcelo Costa vs. Ronnie Mann

Event: Cage Warriors 68
Date: 03/05/2014
Venue: Echo Arena, Liverpool, England

Cage Warriors 68: Mauro Chimento vs. Matt Inman

Event: Cage Warriors 68
Date: 03/05/2014
Venue: Echo Arena, Liverpool, England